Zoning Board of Appeals

Zoning Board of Appeals

The Zoning Board Appeals hears and decides appeals when it is alleged there is error in any order, requirement, decision, or determination made by any administrative official.

Zoning boards may be authorized to participate in two types of decision-making:

  • Administrative Appeal – a legally contested order or decision of the zoning official (usually associated with a contested map or text interpretation).
  • Variance – a relaxation of a dimensional or use standard specified in the zoning ordinance.

The rules and procedures of the Zoning Board of Appeals are dictated by State Law and outlined in Chapter 17.11 of the Town Code.

The Zoning Board of Appeals meets as needed.


The Zoning Board of Appeals consists of five citizen members plus two citizen alternate members, appointed by the Town Chairperson and confirmed by the Town Board. Terms are 3-years and begin on June 1st of the appointment period.

Member Address Term
Dean Pearson, Chair 870 Golden Meadow Ct, Brookfield, WI 53045 2023-2026
Gordon Gaeth 20725 Brook Park Dr., Brookfield, WI 53045 2022-2025
Janet Gentile 400 Allen Road, Waukesha, WI 53186 2023-2026
John Marose 805 Summit Dr., Waukesha, WI 53186 2022-2025
Daryl Walther 21110 Heatherview Dr., Brookfield, WI  53045 2022-2025
Alternate 1: VACANT
Alternate 2: VACANT

Further Information

Read the University of Wisconsin (UW) – Stevens Point Zoning Board Handbook for more detailed information on variances and what constitutes a “hardship”.